Baking

Bandwagon Doughnuts

I’m not one to jump on a bandwagon, but when it comes to food I love staying on top of the trends. Dublin has been all about doughnuts lately, and I definitely approve.  Krüst Bakery and Aungier Danger are well worth a visit. Along with The Rolling Donut, who have opened a new shop on Bachelors Walk, new kid on the block Off Beat Donuts, and many others, we’ve reached peak doughnut in Dublin.

I don’t find myself in any of the doughnut places as often as I’d like though. It’s probably a good thing. I have no self-control. But that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be able to have doughnuts whenever I want, right? So I figured I’d make my own!

To be fair, this isn’t a recipe that provides instant gratification. It’s made with an enriched yeast dough, and involves a long proving time. It’s worth it though, and it’s surprisingly easy. The dough is beautiful to work with, although moving the puffed up circles of dough from the tray to the hot oil was a little bit tricky. Nothing a bit of practice won’t fix. Any excuse to make doughnuts!image5

Because these doughnuts are made with a yeast dough,  I didn’t think it would be wise to come up with my own recipe. Enter Epicurious, and Joanne Chang. You might have noticed that I’m a bit of a chocoholic, so it’s no surprise that I filled and topped them with chocolate ganache. This makes them extra decadent. There’s plenty of room for experimentation though. Be creative!

These doughnuts are soft, fluffy and a pretty decent substitute for the ones that have popped up around Dublin recently.

Ingredients

7g fast action yeast
160g milk, at room temperature
490g plain flour
70g sugar
2 tsps salt
3 eggs
100g butter, at room temperature
Oil, for frying

Filling Ingredients

100g cream
100g chocolate (I used 54%)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Topping Ingredients

75g cream
75g chocolate
Knob of butter
1 tsp golden syrup

Method

Put the yeast and the milk in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add the flour, sugar, salt and eggs and mix with a dough hook on a low speed until the dough comes together. Mix on a low speed for a couple of minutes. Continue to mix on a low speed for about 5 minutes while you add the softened butter in pieces. After about 5 minutes the butter should be fully incorporated.

image1Remove the dough from the bowl, wrap it well in cling film and refrigerate for 6-15 hours. I left mine overnight wrapped in few layers of cling film to prevent it bursting.

Roll out the dough to about ½ inch thick. Cut the dough into circles using a 3 – 4 inch round biscuit cutter. Put each round onto a floured baking tray and cover with a damp tea towel or a plastic bag. (I put my trays into plastic bags which I tied at the end.) Leave for 2-3 hours until doubled in size.

 

When the dough is ready, heat the oil in a pot to about 180ºC. Mine was a little hotter than that so they ended up a little darker than I’d have liked, but they tasted perfectly fine. Carefully transfer each doughnut into the oil. Fry 1 or 2 at a time. I found it best to cut the baking paper I had the circles proving on so that I could pick them up without disturbing the dough. Then I gently flipped the paper over and placed the dough in the oil. If you’re feeling confident you can just pick the dough up! Fry for 2-3 minutes on each side until browned. Place each cooked doughnut on trays lined with kitchen paper to drain and cool.

Meanwhile, make the filling. Chop the chocolate and place it in a bowl. Heat the cream until it’s hot but not boiling and pour it over the chocolate. Leave it for a couple of minutes and then mix until the chocolate has melted. Leave it to cool and thicken, and then whisk it to thicken it a bit more. Transfer it to a piping bag fitted with a round nozzle.

When the doughnuts have cooled you’ll need to make a hole in them. I found it easiest to stick a teaspoon handle into them and swirl it around a bit. Pipe the thickened ganache into each hole. As you can see, some of mine ended up with more filling than others!

To make the topping, make the ganache as above and add the butter and golden syrup to it. Dip the top of each doughnut into the ganache and swirl it around until it’s covered. If you have any ganache left you can swirl them again for a thicker topping. I sprinkled hundreds and thousands on top, but shaved white chocolate would be delicious and my husband has requested toasted coconut next time!

Leave a Reply

